December 1, 2013 Association

ASHFoundation: ASHFoundation Awards More Than $500,000

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation awarded $535,955 to 63 researchers, students and clinicians at its annual Founders Breakfast on Nov. 15 during the 2013 ASHA Convention. Almost 400 individual and corporate donors, award recipients and friends celebrated the ASHFoundation's investment in the future of the discipline and recognized the generous donors who make it possible.

Clinical Research Grants advance knowledge of the efficacy of treatment and assessment practices of scientists within the communication sciences and disorders discipline. Recipients are:

  • Andrea Dunn, assistant professor, Vanderbilt University
  • Eva van Leer, assistant professor, Georgia State University
  • Patricia Zebrowski, professor, University of Iowa

New Century Scholars Research Grants encourage innovative studies and investigators who will advance the field's research priorities. Recipients are:

  • Michelle Renee Ciucci, assistant professor, University of Wisconsin
  • Kathryn Connaghan, research scientist, Northeastern University
  • Jamie Desjardins, research assistant professor, Syracuse University
  • Yu-Hsiang Wu, assistant professor, University of Iowa

New Investigators Research Grants fund the research of scientists who have earned their doctoral degree within the past five years. Recipients are:

  • Casey Lew-Williams, assistant professor, Northwestern University
  • Krystal Werfel, assistant professor, University of South Carolina

State Clinical Achievement Awards honor individuals selected by their respective state speech-language-hearing association. The recipient of the ASHFoundation's Louis M. DiCarlo Award for Recent Clinical Achievement (which appeared in the November issue of The ASHA Leader) is chosen from among these awardees.


Hope Curtis Reed, associate professor, Alabama A&M University


Melissa Jakubowitz, speech-language pathologist, PresenceLearning


Kathryn Hardin, clinical assistant professor, University of Colorado, Boulder


Peggy Modglin, speech-language pathologist, Normal Community West High School


Jane O'Regan Kleinert, associate professor, University of Kentucky


Jack Damico, Hawthorne Eminent Scholar in Communicative Disorders, University of Louisiana, Lafayette

North Carolina

David A. Shapiro, professor of communication sciences and disorders, Western Carolina University


Pat Schwinn, speech-language pathologist, Goodwill Columbus


Patricia Mervine, speech-language pathologist, Bucks County Intermediate Unit


Santina Puglisi-Creegan, clinical instructor, Marquette University

Watch for other ASHFoundation award announcements, including student scholarships and student research grants, in the January 2014 Leader.

For more information about the ASHFoundation, including award recipients' research proposal titles, fields of study and programs, visit the ASHFoundation website.

Donations Make Awards Possible

The ASHFoundation's 2013 awards—$535,955 given to 63 researchers, student scholars and clinicians—were possible through the gifts of individual, corporate, and organizational donors. Since its inception, the ASHFoundation has awarded $6.1 million to almost 1,800 doctoral and post-doctoral researchers, graduate students, and leaders in the field. The ASHFoundation and its donors are investing in intellectual talent to ensure a solid future for the professions and for children and adults with communication disorders.

It's not too late to join this work. Make a donation before Dec. 31 and invest in the future of your profession. And even if you have already contributed to the ASHFoundation in 2013, consider making another year-end gift to do even more good.

Donate online or call 301-296-8704.


Advertise With UsAdvertisement